Delete a metric
If you delete a combined metric, you will also delete any simple metrics that were uniquely used to create it. However, if the same simple metrics also appear in other combined metrics, or on a dashboard, they will not be deleted.
Conversely, if you delete a metric that is being used as part of other combined metrics, the data will be missing from other metrics that depend on the deleted metric. Charts will turn gray and a message will appear indicating that the source metrics have been removed.
You can also remove a metric from your dashboard without deleting it. To delete a metric, do the following:
- Open the detail view of the metric you want to delete by selecting it in the directory list or in a dashboard.
- Next to the metric name, select Edit > Delete metric in the directory.
- If you are in the detailed view of a metric, select Delete metric just below the name.
- Select OK, when prompted, to delete the metric.