By default, every metric is listed in the directory where they are accessible for other users to view and use. However, you can make a metric private so that only you will see it in the directory.

Only the user who created a metric marked private is able to edit the metric, add it to a dashboard or use it in other metrics. 

To make a metric private:
  1. From the metric's detail view, open metric settings.
  2. Select Unlisted.

Note: Private metrics cannot be used by others to create metrics. However, private metrics can be seen by others if you place them on a public dashboard.

Note: When building a combined metric, any new metrics created at the same time will inherit the public or private status from that metric.